{Recipe: Double Chocolate Ginger Cashew Milk}

Those of you that read my blog know I am obsessed with the chocolate ginger milk from Caffe Beano on 17th Ave. It’s steamed almond milk blended with Bernard Callebaut dark chocolate shavings and ground ginger for a spicy kick. And hello? It’s the name of my blog!

This past weekend I found myself craving one at home. Not wanting to make the half an hour drive into downtown, I tried my hand at making my own version adapted from a recipe for homemade cashew milk from the Blueprint 3 Day Cleanse book. 

The chocolately flavour comes from a combination of Valrhona cocoa powder and Sharffen Berger cacao nibs.

Raw cashews.

And a dash of ground ginger. Mixed together until smooth in a blender and voila! Instant chocolate ginger milk.

Feeling fancy? How about decorating it with a pinch of chocolate sprinkles.

And sipping it through a cool paper straw (A package I picked up at the Curiosity shop in San Francisco).

Double Chocolate Ginger Cashew Milk

Makes about 3 cups

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked 1 hour
  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 2 tablespoons cacao nibs
  • 1 tablespoon good quality dark cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2  tablespoons maple syrup (can use agave nectar)
  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • pinch sea salt

Drain the nuts. Combine all the ingredients and blend until completely smooth. Store in the fridge for up to 5 days. Shake well before use.

Comments
4 Responses to “{Recipe: Double Chocolate Ginger Cashew Milk}”
  1. prairiesummers says:

    That sounds fabulous and I wish I could have one now lol

  2. Mallory says:

    I think I would like it even better with cashews vs. almonds. Mind you, I will eat or drink anything containing chocolate. Looks good!

Leave a Reply

