{Paris 04.16: Paris Marathon and Pastry Love}

My home for this month is an apartment in the Canal Saint Martin area.

I’m just a block away from this amazing design bookstore. Any design related thing you can think of, there’s a book for it in here. So inspiring, I could spend HOURS here.

We dealt with a ton of complications at the start of the trip (delayed by a day, missing our connecting flight from Frankfurt, losing baggage). Me and my mom didn’t arrive till Saturday afternoon, but I was happy I made it in time to do my run bright and early on Sunday morning even though I only slept 7 hours in the past 3 days.

The last 8 km nearly killed me, but I made it alive and kicking and reached my goal of under 4 hours just barely (3 hours, 59 minutes, 41 seconds).

I just thought this sign was funny…What the heck is Paris fried chicken? And why does it need to be abbreviated..

My mom bought me these limited edition Paris Marathon Asics at the running expo for me as a reward. I LOVE them so much and they are super comfy. I can’t wait to start training for my upcoming half marathons in these babies.

Love the insoles too, which feature a map of the 2012 course.

This tiger tail massage roller will be my best friend the next couple days for my achy legs.

Monday morning I grabbed us breakfast at Du Pain et des Idees, a few blocks from my apartment. Voted best baker in Paris in 2008 by a famous gourmet magazine, Gault & Millau.

Me and my mom shared the escargot chocolat-pistache.

And a chausson aux pommes with a delicious fresh apple center, no jam fillings here.

We took the metro to the Opera station for a day of shopping in the area and at the popular Galeries Lafayette.

The ceiling in the department store is breathtaking. 7 floors for all your shopping needs. Not to mention Lafayette Gourmet, Homme and Maison are all in their own separate buildings.

We stopped for a quick lunch at the asian restaurant on the 6th floor. I had a hearty bowl of noodle soup with roast duck.

Then we headed over to the gourmet side and marveled at all the amazing eats. The boy would be in heaven looking at this if he were here now.

No visit to Paris is complete without a stop at the famous Pierre Herme for a box of his macarons.

Each season they feature a new batch of flavours.

My box included: Infiniment Jasmin (jasmine flower and jasmine tea), Macador (milk chocolate and passionfruit) and their feature Jardin Secret (rose, vanilla and cloves).

Infiniment Rose (rose petals), Infiniment Chocolat Porcelana (pure Venezuelan origin Porcelana chocolate), Infiniment Caramel (salted butter and caramel), Mosaic (pistachio, ceylan cinnamon and wild morello cherries soaked in liquer and kirsch).

I also picked up treats from Patisserie Sadaharu Aoki. Delicate french pastries with asian inspired flavours.

A nine layer opera cake with matcha green cream and dark chocolate alternating with layers of green tea cake.

And his famous eclair. Filled with a creamy black sesame pastry cream. Deeply aromatic, nutty and exotic with just the right amount of sweetness.

We picked up a few things at the gourmet market to make ourselves a dinner tonight.

Chunks of pecorino, mimolette and brie de meaux. Cheese here is less than half the price we pay at home.

Salami, proscuitto and olives with feta.

And a fresh-baked olive loaf from Eric Kayser.

Soft and chewy interior studded with green and black olives surrounded by a crisp golden crust.

Of course we can’t come to Paris without sampling the foie gras.

Incredibly creamy, melt in your mouth deliciousness. I wish we could take this home with us!!

Good quality bottles of wine from our corner grocer at prices that are comparable to bottles of water.

If this is a dream…please don’t wake me up..

Comments
7 Responses to “{Paris 04.16: Paris Marathon and Pastry Love}”
  1. Vincci says:

    Congrats on meeting your marathon goal despite your crappy flight circumstances! Looks like you’re having a splendid time with your mom so far – can’t wait to see you in a week! 🙂

  2. coldprairie says:

    I am in lust with those photos. The foie, the cheeses, the opera cake, the pastries. Dang! And I really agree with you on cheese prices, they are waaay lower in the states too. All due to lovely protectionist tariffs on imports.

  3. prairiesummers says:

    Arghhh I want to go to Paris too. I am afraid I would stuff my face, gain 10kg and would try to bring back food to Canada haha

  4. David says:

    Congrats on your marathon results!

  5. Mallory says:

    Congratulations. And thanks for the pictures, now I am drooling everywhere.

Leave a Reply

