{Paris 5.1 Auguste Blanqui Food Market and Des Gateaux et du Pains}

Rise and shine..

I’m currently loving these thin toasted slices of the Pain D’Espices from a loaf I bought at Poilane Bakery. It’s a dense slighty sweet French gingerbread loaf made with rye flour, honey and a variety of spices. A delicious breakfast accompaniment with a swipe of butter and my mango jam. Also a yummy afternoon snack with foie gras, I was skeptical, but the flavours work really well together.

I randomly found the August Blanqui Sunday Market by the Place D’Italie as I was trying to find a metro stop. Usually Sundays are rather quiet since most of the businesses are closed. But not here..It was lively and bustling with people and delicious smells.

A seemingly endless row of people with their shopping carts making their way between stalls lining either side. Deliciously tempting saucisson, cheeses of all kinds, fresh-baked breads, olives of every kind, ethnic prepared foods and honey. It just went on and on..

Beautiful roses at decent prices..My mom would be swooning right now if she were here..

There is one thing I really envy about the French life..Being able to buy your groceries daily at these awesome neighbourhood markets, talking to the stall owners as if you’d known them all your life and being surrounded by the best quality ingredients. I found myself peeking into people’s baskets trying to guess what they’d be making for dinner that night..

The longest lineup of all was for these mini roasted chickens called Coquelet (a male chicken less than 1 year) and giant paella pans with delicious nuggets of roasted potatoes. I could smell this stall a mile away.

I eagerly waited in line drooling over the roasted duck breasts, rabbits and ribs..

After I bought my groceries, I took a short metro ride to another of my must-try patisseries on my list, Des Gateaux et du Pain. A very chic and minimalist store with sleek stone exterior, tinted windows and black awnings. The interior of the store looked like a high-end jewelry store, all black finishings letting the pastries really stand out. I had read that this was the favourite croissant in Paris by this French pastry blogger, so I knew I had to put it to the test. It looked absolutely perfect..

Crisp golden crust, buttery, with that signature French pastry crunch as I bit through each flaky layer. Perfection..This is the kind of moment I know I’ll be longing for when I go home.

After I snapped out of pastry dreamland, I made my way home with my goodies from the market.

All the veggies and fruit came to under 4 euros and it’s all organic! I’d be lucky if I could get a cucumber for 6 bucks at the organic store at home..Sigh..

A Viennoise loaf. Kind of reminded me of a brioche..

Lunch is ready in a matter of minutes. The meat was so tender, flavourful..Zuni Cafe worthy..And the potatoes…I NEED to learn to make potatoes like these!

And for dessert..a pistachio strawberry pastry. A seemingly simple dessert on the outside..

The interior revealed several alternating layers of biscuit, pistachio dacquoise, strawberry cream, pistachio mousse and a layers of fresh strawberries. Enrobed in a thin layer of pistachio scented white chocolate ganache and decorated with tinted white chocolate sheets…All of this in a 2″ cube!

Being the apple pastry obsessed person I am, I HAD to get the chausson aux pommes. I was a little disappointed by the one I had Du Pain et Des Idees, as I had heard great things about it. This one definately made up for it..

Crisp, flaky, delcious apple compote center. Hm..how many of these do you think I can pack into my carry on..

Dinner later that night was simple and quick..

And I enjoyed what was left in my jar of foie gras

Comments
One Response to “{Paris 5.1 Auguste Blanqui Food Market and Des Gateaux et du Pains}”
  1. Tatiana says:

    That right there, all looks like a perfect day of eating. And yep, organic veggies are SO much more expensive here, as is cheese. I’d really like to look into the why’s of it one day. Is it our climate? Our labor costs? For the cheese it’s the government protectionist tariffs, but for the veggies I’m really not sure.

Leave a Reply

