{Recipe: Scandinavian-Style Vanilla Bean Rum Pancakes w/ Salted Butter Caramel Apple Sauce}

If I had to pick my favourite meal of the day, it would be brunchOn the weekends, I find myself thinking about what I’m going to have in the morning the night before…Is that weird?

I’ve been having craving pancakes lately and stumbled upon a recipe from one of my readers for an oven baked pancake from the Nordic Bakery, a Scandinavian-style cafe in London.

I was still in my pajamas so it worked out well that I had all these ingredients on hand.

Side note: You’ll notice my cat’s arm and leg made it into the pic below..Not intentional…

I thought I’d jazz these up a bit by incorporating the seeds from a vanilla bean pod and generous splash of dark rum which I whisked into the milk.

The recipe calls for you to melt the butter on the baking sheet in the oven to grease it, then pour the remains into the pancake batter before pouring the whole thing back into the sheet which I thought was genius since it saves me at least one bowl to clean. Cause let’s face it, its way more fun baking then cleaning up the giant mess you made when you’re all done.

The batter needs about 35-40 minutes baking time in the oven which gives you time to catch up on my favourite blogs and do some surfing on Pinterest.  You’ll know they’re close to being done when your house starts to smell absolutely amazing. Warm and aromatic vanilla, with notes of rum and sweet buttery batter…No Bath and Body Works candle can replicate this scent..

Look at all those yummy vanilla bean flecks and that crisp golden crust..

You could simply dust the tops with confectioner’s sugar and serve it with a side of organic blueberry jam like the cafe suggests…

I thought I’d add a fall twist by making a quick sauce by sautéing a diced apple with a few tablespoons of sauce au caramel beurre sale I had in the fridge. You could also just melt a tbsp of butter with a couple of tbsps of brown sugar for a quick substitute.

The pancakes are not like your typical buttermilk pancake. They are ever so slightly sweet and are eggy and buttery with a crisp and golden crust on the bottom and a custard-like center. The addition of the vanilla and rum echoed the flavours of one of my favourite French pastries, the canele.

Speaking of which..I need to make another batch of those..

This yields about 12 generous squares which makes this a great “brunch with friends/family” recipe. Or if you’re like me, you could freeze the individual squares and toast them up to enjoy whenever you please.

Bon appetit!

Oven Baked Pancakes (adapted from the Nordic Bakery Cookbook via Cake and Other Tales)

  • 100 g (7/8 cup) cane sugar
  • 275 g (2.5 cups) all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 800 ml (3 1/3 cup) milk
  • 100 g (7/8 cup) unsalted butter
  • icing sugar, for dusting

Optional

  • seeds from one vanilla bean pod or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp of good dark rum

Put the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a large mixing bowl and mix briefly to combine. Make a well in the centre and pour the eggs and 1/3 of the milk into it. Gently bring the dry ingredients into the well, and continue to mix lightly until completely combined. Then add the remaining milk, vanilla and rum, whisking with a balloon whisk until smooth.

Leave to stand for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (400ºF) Gas 6. Put the butter into a roasting tray (23 x 32 cm) and put in the hot oven until melted. Remove from the oven and, using a pastry brush, distribute the butter to grease all sides of the roasting tray. Pour the excess melted butter into the pancake batter, and stir to incorporate.

Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 30 – 40 minutes, until golden and firm, but still slightly soft in the middle.

Leave to cool slightly, before dusting generously with icing sugar and cutting into 12 square slices.

Comments
2 Responses to “{Recipe: Scandinavian-Style Vanilla Bean Rum Pancakes w/ Salted Butter Caramel Apple Sauce}”
  1. alfie6 says:

    These look wonderful, I love what you’ve done to spice up the standard recipe. I’m definitely going to have to try this version. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

