{Recipe: Baked NYC’s Root Beer Chocolate Cake – Two Ways}

This past week me and the boy celebrated Thanksgiving with THREE turkey dinners in a row. This meant some extra time at the gym, clothing with some breathing room and plenty of baking in my kitchen.

As I browsed through my notebook of “things to make”, I came across a recipe that had caught my eye awhile back. A recipe for a root beer chocolate bundt cake from the famous Baked NYC in Brooklyn.

Sounds like a weird combo right? But I assure you it is one of THE BEST chocolate cakes I’ve ever made. The recipe calls for 2 cups of root beer (no diet sodas please). I found this one at my local grocer which uses cane sugar as a sweetener.

Combined with a cup of King Arthur’s dark cocoa, the result is this thick charcoal black batter..

The original recipe calls for this to be baked in a bundt cake pan which I do not own(I know! I seem to have every other darn baking utensil). So I switched it up and made a batch of cupcakes and two medium sized round cakes instead.

I piped a fluffy marshmallow frosting which I thought was a perfect choice to transform these mini cakes into mini root beer floats. The straw and sprinkles just add to the fun factor. *cupcake liners from my Enjoy package from Joy the Baker

Also I just REALLY wanted to use my fancy mini industrial torch that I received from my good friend and her husband. SO much better than the old kitchen torch I used to use, this baby is POWERFUL!

I toasted the marshmallow frosting with quick back and forth motions to highlight the definition of the swirls in the frosting.

And of course I had to sample one right away for quality control. The result was a fluffy, moist and deep aromatic chocolate cake. The root beer flavour does come through and adds an interesting spiced dimension that works surprisingly well. The frosting was like biting into a cloud.

Just like the classic creamy soda drink from my childhood…in cake form.

With the other half of the batter, I made 2 – one layer round cakes…

For the first one I covered the top in the same frosting and sprinkled the tops with some clear sanding sugar for a bit of sparkle for a simple and elegant presentation.

For dinner the next night, I enrobed the second cake in a rich and decadent root beer dark chocolate ganache. Topped off with a dusting of cocoa powder and pretty metallic pearl nonpareils.

There you have it, root beer cake – two ways. Bon appetit!

I followed the root beer cupcake recipe from here. For the two 8″ chocolate round cakes, I lined the bottoms of the pan with a piece of parchment, greased and floured the interior and baked at 325F for abut 40 minutes. Cool before removing from pan.

Dreamy Marshmallow Frosting (enough for 12 cupcake and one 8″ one layer round cake)

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1 cups sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • vanilla bean powder (optional)
  1. Place egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar in the heatproof bowl of an electric mixer. Set over a saucepan with simmering water. Whisk constantly until sugar is dissolved and whites are warm to the touch, 3 to 4 minutes.
  2. Transfer bowl to electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, and beat, starting on low speed, gradually increasing to high, until stiff, glossy peaks form, 5 to 7 minutes. Add vanilla, and mix until combined. Use immediately.

Root Beer Dark Chocolate Ganache Frosting

2 ounces dark chocolate, melted
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup to 3/4 cup root beer
2/3 cup dark, unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups powdered sugar

Beat the butter and cocoa powder with a mixer. Add the melted chocolate, salt, powdered sugar and 1/4 cup of root beer to start. Beat until smooth. If needed, add additional root beer in small amounts until you reach the desired consistency. Use frosting immediately.

Comments
One Response to “{Recipe: Baked NYC’s Root Beer Chocolate Cake – Two Ways}”
  1. Vincci says:

    Fancy! They all look delicious!

Leave a Reply

