{Cocktail hour: Blood Orange Meyer Lemon Mint Fizz)

Hello friends..

I know most of you have probably thought I have abandoned this blog since I haven’t posted in the past few months. To be honest,  I feel like my motivation to blog was beginning to dwindle and I just needed a break from the whole routine of posting and just live my life without having to pencil in the couple of hours each weekend or hour in the evening to update the site.

From here on in the posts will be kinda sporadic, but you can I still find updates on my twitter if you want to see what I am up to, what I’m cooking/baking and notable eats in and around town.

Alright…onto the food…

For the past month or so I’ve been really into making homemade cocktails (FINALLY making use of that lovely bar cart in our living room). I find myself craving one after a long day on weeknights as I prepare dinner or as a refresher in the afternoon before dinner on the weekends. 

I’ve been really digging the flavourful citrus we’ve been getting in our organic delivery box which is what inspired this cocktail..

DSCF2041

DSCF2043

Juicing enough of these little guys to make about 1 cup..

DSCF2046

I shook this in a cocktail shaker filled with ice with some muddled mint, a splash of simple syrup, a squeeze of one meyer lemon for an extra fragrant zing and a few dashes of grapefruit bitters.

DSCF2048

I spiked mine with vodka and the boy’s with gin and topped it off with a splash of San Pellegrino and voila! A deliciously refreshing cocktail for two..

DSCF2050

Citrus Mint Fizz

  • few springs of mint (muddled)
  • 1 cup of fresh squeezed mixed citrus (I used blood oranges, navel and one meyer lemon)
  • 2 oz of vodka or gin
  • 1 tbsp of simple syrup
  • few dashes of hopped grapefruit bitters ( I used Bittermans brand)
  • small bottle of San Pellegrino or other sparkling water

Muddle mint in cocktail shaker, add a couple handfuls of ice and next 4 ingredients and shake. Pour into two glasses and top off with sparkling water.

Leave a Reply

