{Recipe: Meyer Lemon Blueberry Muffins with Candied Ginger}

A little of my lately..

I’ve incorporated barre workouts into to my fitness routine since February (going about 5-6 times/wk) and have noticed changes in my body that I haven’t been getting from my other workouts including more tone on my arms and shoulders and slimming of my thighs (which is a huge plus since running have made them bulkier).

url

Another bonus is the barre workouts have kept my running injuries at bay while I train for my fourth marathon which will be at the end of August in Reykjavik, Iceland..I’ve been working with a running coach to help me get a personal best for this race.

url-1

Current breakfast obsession: warm slices of bread with house made Sicilian orange marmalade at Borgo Trattoria.. 

IMG_2188

Followed by their take on “steak and eggs”. Broiled pieces of perfectly cooked sirloin with creamy scrambled truffled eggs a wedge of toasted foccacia, crispy speck proscuitto and lightly dressed greens. Ah-mazing..

IMG_2189

We recently got a new Hurom Slow Juicer which I am SO in love with. It’s a masticating juicer which means it crushes rather than spins the pulp to make juice. It doesn’t heat up the juice as much as centrifugal juicers which claims to preserve more of the live enzymes. Other benefits:

  1. It’s a lot quieter which means I can juice while the boy is still sleeping
  2. It yields more juice and does a much better job at juicing greens like kale and spinach
  3. It’s WAY easier to clean than my old centrifugal
  4. It can make nut milks which is a bonus since I don’t own a blender

I’ve gotten into the habit of doing a weekly Sunday juice, making about 12 – 1 cup mason jars for me and the boy to get those extra veggies and fruit into our everyday diet. I’ve noticed a big boost in my energy and quicker recovery time from my workouts. Plus, juicing at home is so much more affordable than going to a juice shop on a daily basis or buying those juice cleansing systems online.

IMG_2174

I’ve been on a bit of a muffin kick lately. Making a new batch every week for a quick take-&-go breakfast. Last week’s was my take on David Lebovitz’s nutty magdalena with an ethnic twist, incorporating pistachio paste and rosewater and topped with cocoa nibs and dried rose petals.
IMG_2197

This week’s muffin is studded with lots of plump and juicy blueberries and laced with the zest of the “in season” meyer lemons. For a double lemon kick, I broke these muffins in half and spread them with a small spoonful of my meyer lemon curd (a staple in my fridge all year round).

DSCF2063

I reduced the amount of sugar from the original recipe and added in a bit more sweetness by sprinkling the tops with turbinado sugar and some diced candied ginger. I like to call these “anytime muffins” because they make aren’t overly sweet which makes it perfect for breakfast, as an afternoon treat at work or a light dessert after dinner.

As a side note, I used an italian 00 cake flour from my corner grocer for this recipe which yields a beautifully light and fluffy crumb unlike an other muffin I’ve baked using regular all-purpose. I will definitley be using this flour for all my future muffin/cake recipes!

Bon appetit!

DSCF2057

Meyer Lemon Blueberry Muffins with Candied Ginger

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 2 organic eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond milk + 1/4 cup Vital Green Farms 52% heavy cream (you could just use whole milk for the 1/2 cup of milk)
  • 2 cups 00 italian cake flour (or all purpose)
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar (original recipe calls for 3/4 cup)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
  • zest of 2 meyer lemons
  • turbinado sugar
  • candied ginger

Heat oven to 375°. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners. Whisk butter, eggs and milk in a bowl. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in another bowl. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients; fold in blueberries and zest. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups; sprinkle with turbinado sugar and diced candied ginger. Bake until muffins are golden brown and a knife comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Serve warm with lemon curd or butter.

Leave a Reply

