{Recipe: Healthy Snacks on the Go}

One of the key things I’ve learned about eating healthy on a daily basis is to plan and prepare a meal plan on a weekly basis. I’ve noticed I tend to make not-so-healthy meal choices when:

  1. I’m too tired after the gym at night to cook
  2. I’ve had a long and busy day at work
  3. Feeling rushed and on my way out the door with no time to make something to eat

I like to look through my stacks of food magazines, cookbooks and scour my favourite food blogs for inspiration to help me map out what I’m going to make that week. On the weekend, I will prepare a variety of snacks, food prep (like cutting fresh veggies or fruit) or make a batch of fresh juices.

In today’s post I’ll share a couple of my recent favourite grab-and-go snacks I like to pack in my purse for a quick boost of energy before my 6:20am barre class or as an afternoon snack before my workouts.

Mini vegan oatmeal raisin cookies. A crisp golden exterior with a soft crumbly center and jam-packed with plump red flame raisins and 70% dark chocolate chips. They are sweetened with brown rice syrup, maple syrup and a banana and are made with grapeseed oil instead of butter.

DSCF2035

I used a combination of whole wheat pastry flour, almond meal and for an added boost of protein and thick rolled oats to keep those hunger pangs at bay. I’ll usually keep a half batch in the fridge for me and the boy to enjoy during the week and freeze the other half. I’ll change the recipe up every time by adding different nuts/seeds (hazelnuts, cashews, pecans, pumpkin seeds, pistachios) and dried fruit (dried cherries, apricots, blueberries, etc..) Feel free to get creative!

DSCF2037

Vegan oatmeal raisin cookies (adapted from Gwyneth Paltrow recipe)

Makes about 18-20 cookies

  • ½ cup raisins
  • ¾ cup walnuts, toasted (or nut of your choice)
  • 1 cup whole rolled oats (not instant and not steel-cut), divided
  • ½ cup almond flour (can also use quinoa or oat flour, etc..)
  • ¾ cup whole spelt flour
  • 1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon fine sea salt
  • ⅓ cup vegetable oil
  • ⅓ cup pure maple syrup
  • ⅓ cup brown rice syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 overripe banana, mashed
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a small pan (without oil) toast the walnuts until golden brown and fragrant. Stir constantly so that they do not burn. Transfer to a bowl and set aside.
  3. Place the raisins in a small bowl and cover with water to plump them.
  4. Meanwhile, finely grind the toasted walnuts and ½ cup of the oats in a small food processor. Combine this mixture with the remaining dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  5. Mix together the wet ingredients and mashed banana in a small bowl and add to the dry-ingredients bowl. Stir to combine.
  6. Drain the raisins and fold them into the batter.
  7. Drop the mixture using a small cookie scoop or tablespoon onto the baking sheets.
  8. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until lightly golden.
  9. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Another staple snack in my kitchen are these chocolate energy bites. This is a super easy no bake recipe made with a base of nut butter, honey, unsweetened coconut and rolled oats. I’ll usually have a couple of these before a long training run or to satisfy my chocolate craving at work at the 4pm energy slump.

DSCF1976

My current combo includes: hemp hearts, white chia seeds, raw pumpkin seeds, cacao nibs, mini dark chocolate chips, dried cherries.

I like to eat these right out of the fridge and they freeze well too (if they make it that long…)

DSCF1977

Chocolate and Ginger’s Marathon Bites

  • 1 cup organic almond butter (or your fave nut butter)
  • 1/3 cup wild clover honey
  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened organic cocoa powder (or carob powder)
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried cherries (or your fave dried fruit)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips (gluten-free, if desired)
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs (I used Scharffen Berger)
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup finely pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup hemp hearts
  • 1/4 cup white chia seeds

Mix the almond butter, honey and cocoa powder until well combined. Add in the rest of the ingredients and mix till well incorporated.  Roll into 1 1/4-inch balls. Arrange the balls on a plate, cover loosely with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

